basketballstutusandpuppydogtales

Family Photography

Hanging the Stockings {December 3}

2 Comments

Did anyone out there believe that I was going to be able to make one blog post a day for the December Daily challenge? Haha! I really wanted to, but really…I should have know better. Life always gets complicated in December. So today, you will be bombarded with a weeks worth of posts.

Two years ago, I was dying to get matching stockings for the family. We had all been using old stockings from our childhood…not that that’s bad, but they were all starting to look a little worn. Jackson was using a stocking that Vivian had given Big Daddy one year and I don’t even remember what Benjamin was using. The only problem…we knew Lillian was on her way eventually and wanted her stocking to match too.

So, I went ahead and bought stockings two years ago and had everyone’s name monogrammed on the stocking. I even bought one for Lillian. Her’s has been tucked away for two year and I can’t tell you the joy I felt this year hanging her stocking up with all of ours for the first time.

Stockings2012

The next dilemma was that the stocking holders were completely mix-matched…and not in a good way. I was dreaming of the stocking holders at Pottery Barn that hold a photo, but $30 for one seems like a lot, especially when you need five! So, I decided to make my own. I took apart the old mix-matched ones, bought frames at Hobby Lobby, spray painted everything red, and reassembled them. I think they look good pretty good for a refurbished project. Now…I just need to get some photos in them.

Stockings2012_2

Big Daddy was out of town last week when I started this project. He called  to check on us and could hear the shaking of the spray paint can in the background. The first thing he said to me was “what are you spray painting and is it mine?” Haha! He has so little faith in his wife!

2 thoughts on “Hanging the Stockings {December 3}

  1. Love it!!

  2. Great job Amy!

Leave a comment